{ Page-Title / Story-Title }


Shibasish Sarkar elected president of Producers Guild of India

Sarkar was unanimously elected and takes over the post from the incumbent president Siddharth Roy Kapur.

Our Correspondent

Shibasish Sarkar has been unanimously elected as president of the Producers Guild of India at the first meeting of its newly constituted guild council of management, which was held immediately after the 68th annual general meeting on 21 September.

Welcoming the president-elect, the incumbent president Siddharth Roy Kapur said, “It has been a pleasure and an honour serving the production fraternity and I am delighted to pass the baton on to the able hands of Shibasish. I am sure he will do a stellar job and add further lustre to the guild's reputation of spearheading the industry's interests.”

Chairman and CEO of International Media Acquisition Corp, Sarkar is a media and entertainment industry professional with over 29 years of corporate experience in handling multiple verticals across films, television, animation, gaming content and operations of digital and new media platforms. His last stint was as group CEO at Reliance Entertainment, a part of the Reliance ADA group.

Prior to Reliance, Shibasish held senior positions at Viacom 18, UTV Disney and Godrej Sara Lee with a focus on establishing new business, scaling up operations, driving sustainable growth by forming key alliances, managing stakeholders, talent partners and cross functional teams.

As president-elect, Sarkar spoke about building upon the work of the organisation and stated, “In his six years as guild president, Siddharth has been a tireless, passionate and committed champion for our industry at a time of unprecedented challenges. I look forward to building on what he has accomplished and working alongside my colleagues to help address the challenges and build on the opportunities we have before us as an industry."

The guild’s leadership team for 2022-2023 includes vice-presidents Manish Goswami, Apoorva Mehta, Sunjoy Waddhwa, Madhu Bhojwani, and Ambika Khurana. Ashim Samanta, and Fazila Allana have been named treasurers.