Cannes 2022: Deepika Padukone joins jury led by Vincent Lindon

The 75th edition of the annual film festival is being held from 17 to 28 May.

Sonal Pandya

Deepika Padukone has been named part of the Cannes Film Festival jury for its landmark 75th edition.

Led by French actor Vincent Lindon as president, Padukone is joined by British actress-filmmaker Rebecca Hall, Swedish actress Noomi Rapace, Italian actress Jasmine Trinca, filmmakers Jeff Nichols, Asghar Farhadi, Joachim Trier from USA, Iran and Norway respectively, and French actress-filmmaker Ladj Ly.

In a statement, Lindon said, “It is a great honour and a source of pride to be entrusted, in the midst of the tumult of all the events we are going through in the world, with the splendid, weighty task of chairing the jury of the 75th International Cannes Film Festival. With my jury, we will strive to take the best possible care of the films of the future, all of which carry the same secret hope of courage, loyalty and freedom, with a mission to move the greatest number of women and men by speaking to them of their common wounds and joys. Culture helps the human soul to rise and hope for tomorrow.”

Actress Isabelle Huppert was the last French artiste to preside over the Cannes jury in 2009.

Padukone joins a short but prestigious list of Indian artistes who have been part of the jury at the festival, including filmmakers Mrinal Sen, Mira Nair and Shekhar Kapur, writer Arundhati Roy, actresses Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Nandita Das, Sharmila Tagore and Vidya Balan.

Vidya was the last Indian artiste to serve on the jury in 2013. Padukone has a number of big-name projects in the pipeline — Pathaan (2023), Fighter (2023) and Project K.

Shaunak Sen’s award-winning documentary All That Breathes will have a special screening at the festival, which is being held from 17 to 28 May.

Related topics

Cannes Festival