{ Page-Title / Story-Title }


Nawazuddin Siddiqui, Vir Das, Disney+ Hotstar's Aarya bag International Emmy Awards nominations

The Lion (2017) actor received a nod for his performance on Netflix's Serious Men, while the comedian was nominated for his latest Netflix stand-up special.

Our Correspondent

Almost a year after Delhi Crime made history by becoming the first Indian series to win an International Emmy, acclaimed actor Nawazuddin Siddiqui, comedian Vir Das's Netflix special and the Sushmita Sen-starrer Aarya have received nominations for the 49th edition of the awards.

Siddiqui has been nominated for Best Performance By An Actor in Netflix's Serious Men (2020), directed by Sudhir Mishra, alongside Israel's Roy Nik in Normali; Colombia's Christian Tappán in El Robo del Siglo (The Great Heist); and UK's David Tennant in Des. Siddiqui was part of the shows Sacred Games and McMafia which were nominated for International Emmys in 2019; McMafia ended up winning Best Drama series.

Das’s stand-up special Vir Das: For India has been nominated for Comedy alongside France's Call My Agent – Season 4, UK's Motherland: Christmas Special and Colombia's Promesas de Campaña (Campaign Promises).

Both Siddiqui and Das have appeared in Netflix shows that have been nominated before. Disney+ Hotstar, meanwhile, has up its first nomination with Aarya which is competing against Chile's El Presidente, Israel's Tehran and UK's There She Goes – Season 2.

This year’s nomination list includes 44 nominees across 11 categories and from a record number of 24 countries, including Egypt which scored its first-ever nomination Best Performance By An Actress for Menna Shalaby for the crime mini-series Every Week Has a Friday.

In a statement, International Academy president and CEO Bruce Paisner said, "We are so proud of our nominees and the record-breaking number of countries. To those who feared the pandemic would slow TV production around the world, this is your answer."

The winners for this year’s editing will be announced at an in-person ceremony to be held in New York City on 22 November.

Related topics

Other Awards