News Hindi

Thappad, Gulabo Sitabo sweep 66th Filmfare awards

Irrfan Khan and Taapsee Pannu were, respectively, awarded the acting awards for lead performances in Angrezi Medium (2020) and Thappad (2020).

Our Correspondent

Shoojit Sircar’s Gulabo Sitabo (2020) and Anubhav Sinha’s Thappad (2020) swept this year’s 66th Filmfare awards by winning six trophies each. 

Gulabo Sitabo won awards for Best Actor (Critics) (Amitabh Bachchan), Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female) (Farrukh Jaffar), Best Dialogue (Juhi Chaturvedi), Best Cinematography (Avik Mukhopadhyay), Best Costume Design (Veera Kapur Ee) and Best Production Design (Mansi Dhruv Mehta).

Thappad took home trophies for Best Film, Best Actor in a Leading Role (Female) (Taapsee Pannu), Best Story (Anubhav Sinha and Mrunmayee Lagoo Waikul), Best Background Score (Mangesh Urmila Dhakde), Best Editing (Yasha Pushpa Ramchandani) and Best Sound Design (Kaamod Kharade).

Irrfan Khan posthumously received the award for Best Actor in a Leading Role (Male) for his performance in Angrezi Medium (2020). He was also given the Lifetime Achievement award. Saif Ali Khan was adjudged Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male) for his act as Udaybhan Singh Rathore in Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior (2020) while Om Raut was declared Best Director for the same film.

Eeb Allay Ooo! won the trophy for Best Film (Critics) while Tillotama Shome took home the award for Best Actress (Critics) in Rohena Gera's Sir (2020).

Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior also bagged the Best Action (Ramazan Bulut and RP Yadav) and Best VFX (Prasad Sutar) awards. Farah Khan was adjudged Best Choreographer for Dil Bechara (2020).

Kajol has another reason to rejoice as her short film Devi (2020) received the award for Best Film (Popular Choice). Directed by Priyanka Banerjee, the film also stars Shruti Haasan, Neha Dhupia, Neena Kulkarni and Mukta Barve. 

Purti Savardekar and child artiste Arnav Abdagire were adjudged Best Actor (Female) and Best Actor (Male) respectively for their short films The First Wedding and Arjun. 

The full list of awards follows:

Best FilmThappad
Best Director – Om Raut for Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior 
Best Film (Critics)Eeb Allay Ooo! 
Best Actor in a Leading Role (Male) – Irrfan Khan for Angrezi Medium 
Best Actor (Critics) – Amitabh Bachchan for Gulabo Sitabo 
Best Actor in a Leading Role (Female) – Taapsee Pannu for Thappad 
Best Actress (Critics) – Tillotama Shome for Sir: Is Love Enough? 
Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male) – Saif Ali Khan for Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior 
Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female) – Farrukh Jaffar for Gulabo Sitabo 
Best Story – Anubhav Sinha and Mrunmayee Lagoo Waikul for Thappad 
Best Screenplay – Rohena Gera for Sir: Is Love Enough?
Best Dialogue – Juhi Chaturvedi for Gulabo Sitabo 
Best Debut Director – Rajesh Krishnan for Lootcase 
Best Debut (Female) – Alaya F for Jawaani Jaaneman 
Lifetime Achievement Award – Irrfan Khan

Best Music Album – Pritam for Ludo 
Best Lyrics – Gulzar for ‘Chhapaak’ (Chhapaak
Best Playback Singer (Male) – Raghav Chaitanya for ‘Ek Tukda Dhoop’ from Thappad 
Best Playback Singer (Female) – Asees Kaur for Malang title song

Best Action – Ramazan Bulut and RP Yadav for Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior 
Best Background Score – Mangesh Urmila Dhakde for Thappad 
Best Cinematography – Avik Mukhopadhyay for Gulabo Sitabo 
Best Choreography – Farah Khan for Dil Bechara
Best Costume Design – Veera Kapur Ee for Gulabo Sitabo 
Best Editing – Yasha Pushpa Ramchandani for Thappad 
Best Production Design – Mansi Dhruv Mehta for Gulabo Sitabo 
Best Sound Design – Kaamod Kharade for Thappad 
Best VFX – Prasad Sutar for Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior 

Short Film Awards
Best Film (Fiction) – Shivraj Waichal for Arjun 
Best Film (Non-Fiction) – Nitesh Ramesh Parulekar for Backyard Wildlife Sanctuary 
Best Actor (Female) – Purti Savardekar for The First Wedding 
Best Actor (Male) – Arnav Abdagire for Arjun 
Best Film (Popular) Devi

Related topics