News Indian

Screenwriters Association opens submissions for second edition of SWA Awards

The deadline for submissions is 15 February 2021.

Our Correspondent

The Screenwriters Association of India (SWA) has announced the second edition of the SWA Awards for writers of feature films, TV shows and web-series, as well as lyricists of TV shows, that were released, telecast and streamed in 2020. The deadline for the submission is 15 February 2021.

The Screenwriters Association announced its first-ever awards for excellence in writing on 27 September last year.

Current SWA president Robin Bhatt said preparations have already started to recognize the best in writing in 2020. "While we understand that there were many challenges during 2020 because of the pandemic, excellence through writing in the works that were released did shine through. I request fellow writers to participate wholeheartedly. We need the support and encouragement of all members to make our own award function a big event. Only good work will get the winner’s trophy, only excellence will be honoured, only the best will win.”

SWA general secretary Vinod Ranganath has urged all writers in the industry to participate.

Sridhar Rangayan, chairperson of the Awards Committee, is excited about new submissions. “Last year’s SWA Awards elicited a tremendous response. The writing fraternity was enthused that there was finally an award in India for best writing. In fact, shows like Delhi Crime and Four More Shots Please! which won awards at SWA Awards 2020 went on to be nominated for Emmy Awards and Delhi Crime won an Emmy too, thereby reaffirming the validity and excellence of SWA Awards in felicitating the best writing talent. 

The ceremony is tentatively scheduled to be held online on 27 June  2021.

Related topics

SWA Awards