{ Page-Title / Story-Title }

News Tamil

Dhanush, brother Selvaraghavan reunite for Aayirathil Oruvan 2, see announcement poster

The film is a sequel to Selvaraghavan’s critically acclaimed 2010 epic Aayirathil Oruvan, which starred Karthi, Andrea Jeremiah and Reema Sen.

Haricharan Pudipeddi

Dhanush and his filmmaker brother Selvaraghavan are set to reunite for the Tamil magnum opus Aayirathil Oruvan 2. The announcement was made via a special poster. The project is being slotted for release in 2024.

The film is a sequel to Selvaraghavan’s critically acclaimed Tamil epic Aayirathil Oruvan (2010), which starred Karthi, Andrea Jeremiah and Reema Sen.

Selvaraghavan shared the news with a post in Tamil on Twitter along with the announcement poster.

Replying to his brother’s tweet, Dhanush wrote: “A magnum opus! The pre production alone will take us a year. But a dream film from the master @selvaraghavan! The wait will be long. But we will give our best to make it all worth it. AO2... The Prince returns in 2024 (sic).”

Dhanush and his brother are teaming up for the fourth time. Their previous collaborations were Kadhal Kondein (2003), Pudhupettai (2006) and Mayakkam Enna (2011).

Interestingly, this new project also marks the reunion of the brother with music composer Yuvan Shankar Raja and cinematographer Aravind Krishna.

Meanwhile, Dhanush has multiple projects in the offing. He is awaiting the release of the Karthik Subbaraj-directed Jagame Thandiram (2021). The film, which marks the maiden collaboration of Dhanush and Karthik Subbaraj, has been shot predominantly in London apart from a few other places in the United Kingdom.

Dhanush recently completed shooting for Mari Selvaraj’s Karnan (2021). He also has films with directors Karthick Naren and Ram Kumar in the offing apart from Aanand L Rai’s Atrangi Re (2021).

It was recently confirmed that Dhanush will star in the upcoming Netflix film The Gray Man, which will be directed by the Russo Brothers. Dhanush is the latest addition to the star cast which features Chris Evans, Ryan Gosling, Ana De Armas, Jessica Henwick, Wagner Moura and Julia Butters.