News Hindi

Progressive Writers' Group members retain positions in SWA election, Robin Bhatt to remain president

The 64th annual general body meeting and election were conducted virtually on 18 April.

Our Correspondent

The Screenwriters Association (SWA) annual general meeting and election has seen office-bearers belonging to the Progressive Writers' Group (PWG) mostly retaining their positions. Screenwriter Robin Bhatt will remain president of the association till 2023. 

In view of the pandemic, the election was conducted through an online poll on 18 April, with unique e-voting links sent to all regular/life members and associate members. 

While Bhatt retained his position as president of the executive committee, Zaman Habib was elected the new general secretary for this term. The new executive committee includes writers such as Saket Chaudhary, Sanyuktha Chawla Shaikh, Saiwyn Quadras, Anjum Rajabali and Vinod Ranganath, as well as lyricists Shellee, Abhiruchi Chand, Puneet Sharma and Hussain Haidry.

The associate members of the executive committee will now include Deepanjan Roy, Gaurav Patki and Persis Chirag Sodawaterwalla. 

The term of these office-bearers will end in 2023.

Related topics

Screenwriter's Association