{ Page-Title / Story-Title }

News Hindi

Kangana Ranaut, Karan Johar, Ekta Kapoor named for Padma Shri honours

The actress and filmmakers were part of 118 honorees in their respective fields for distinguished services.

Our Correspondent

The list of this year's Padma Shri honorees have been announced ahead of Republic Day and they include actress Kangana Ranaut, filmmaker Karan Johar, producer Ekta Kapoor, veteran actress Sarita Joshi, and singers Suresh Wadkar and Adnan Sami. They join 118 other honorees who were singled out for distinguished services in their fields.

The Padma Shri is the fourth highest civilian award in India. President Ram Nath Kovind will hand out the awards to the awardees at a later date.

Ranaut, whose latest film Panga (2020) is currently in theatres, has won the National award for Best Actress for Queen (2014) and the Best Supporting Actress award for Fashion (2008). Ranaut said in a statement, "I'm humbled and I’m honoured. I thank my country for this recognition and I dedicate this to every woman who dares to dream. To every daughter... to every mother... and to the dreams of women who will shape the future of our country."

Johar also tweeted out a statement. He initially said he was at a loss for words, but went on to say, "Overwhelmed by so many emotions right now. Humbled, elated and also thankful for the opportunity to live my dream everyday, to create and to entertain. I know my father [Yash Johar] would be proud and I wish he was here to share this moment with me."