News Hindi Malayalam Tamil

Virus, Sir, KD nab awards at the 10th Jagran Film Festival

The awards were decided by a jury comprising filmmakers Farah Khan, Ketan Mehta, Nikkhil Advani, producer Shobu Yarlagadda, actress Dia Mirza and writer-director Sameer Saxena.

Our Correspondent

The tenth edition of the multi-city Jagran Film Festival, which began in Delhi on 18 July, concluded on 29 September in Mumbai. The festival travelled through Kanpur, Lucknow, Allahabad, Varanasi, Agra, Meerut, Dehradun, Hisar, Ludhiana, Patna, Ranchi, Jamshedpur, Gorakhpur, Raipur, Indore and Bhopal before coming to Mumbai.

The last day of the festival culminated with an awards night. The awards were decided by a jury comprising filmmakers Farah Khan, Ketan Mehta, Nikkhil Advani, producer Shobu Yarlagadda, actress Dia Mirza and writer-director Sameer Saxena.

Tillotama Shome, young Nagavishal win Best Actress, Best Actor at 10th Jagran Film Festival: See pictures

The big award of the night for Best Indian Feature Film went to Virus (2019, Malayalam), starring Kunchacko Boban, Parvathy, Indrajith Sukumaran, Asif Ali, Tovino Thomas and Rima Kallingal. Tillotama Shome walked away with the award for Best Actor – Female for her quiet performance in Rohena Gera's Sir, while eight-year-old child artiste Nagavishal nabbed the Best Actor – Male award for the Tamil film, KD.

Presenter Manoj Bajpayee, who handed out the acting awards, talked about how wonderful it was that the festival travelled to remote areas, making it a cosy and elite affair to be recognized across regions.

Filmmakers Aparna Sen and Rima Das were tied for the Best Director award for their films Ghawre Bairey Aaj and Bulbul Can Sing, respectively. Uri: The Surgical Strike (2019) director Aditya Dhar took home the award for Best Debutant Director while the Best Music and Best Writing awards went to Gully Boy (2019) and were picked up by co-writer Reema Kagti and director Zoya Akhtar.

Chintu Ka Birthday took home the Viewer's Choice award for Best Film.

Juror Ketan Mehta presented the award to Kasim Beig for his Special Contribution to the Cinematic Art while veteran actor Jeetendra was named Icon of Indian cinema this year. Actress Bhumi Pednekar was given the Jagran Achievers award.

Here's the full list of winners below:

Jagran Achievers Award: Bhumi Pednekar

OTT Best Comedy Series: Little Things (S2)

OTT Best Drama Series: Made In Heaven

OTT Best Actor – Female: Shefali Shah

OTT Best Actor – Male: Pankaj Tripathi

Best Music: Gully Boy

Debut Director: Aditya Dhar for Uri: The Surgical Strike

Best Writing: Gully Boy

Icon of Indian Cinema: Jeetendra

Special contribution to the cinematic art: Kasim Beig

Best Short Film (Indian): Binnu Ka Sapna

Best Short Film (International): Dante Vs Mohammed Ali (Dutch)

Best Documentary: Widows of Vrindavan

Best Actor – Female: Tilottama Shome for Sir (Hindi)

Best Actor – Male: Nagavishal for KD (Tamil)

Best Director: Aparna Sen for Ghawre Bairey Aaj (Bengali) and Rima Das for Bulbul Can Sing (Assamese)

Best Foreign Feature Film: Holy Boom (Greek)

Best Film – Viewer’s Choice: Chintu Ka Birthday (Hindi)

Best Indian Feature Film: Virus (Malayalam)

Related topics

Jagran Film Festival