News Hindi Tamil

Film fraternity hails Narendra Modi's smashing electoral victory

The Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party was returned to power at the end of the general election yesterday. 


Members of the Indian film fraternity, including veterans like playback singer Asha Bhosle and superstar Rajinikanth, congratulated prime minister Narendra Modi as the Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance coalition registered a landslide victory in the elections to the seventeenth Lok Sabha.

Besides Bhosle and Rajinikanth, younger talents like actors Sonu Sood, Varun Dhawan and Riteish Deshmukh also congratulated Modi for the "fantastic win".

Asha Bhosle said, "The Indian electorate has voted wisely. Congratulations to the honourable PM Modi, NDA and all BJP cadres who worked tirelessly to take our country into a golden age that is long overdue. Jai Hind."

Paresh Rawal wrote, "Had said earlier and will repeat again — Sardar [Vallabhbhai] Patel had unified India and Narendra Modi will not let it disintegrate. Relax India, we are truly in safe hands."

Rajinikanth tweeted simply: "Respected dear Narendra Modiji, hearty congratulations... You made it! God bless."

Veteran actor and one-time BJP member of Parliament from Churu in Rajasthan, Dharmendra, said: "Achchhe din yaqeenan aayenge [Good days will certainly come]."

Actor Akshay Kumar, who had conducted the much-mocked 'non-political' interview with Modi in the midst of the election campaign, wrote: "Heartiest congratulations, honourable prime minister Narendra Modiji on the historic win. All your efforts to advance the nation and put it on the global map have been acknowledged. Wishing you an even more successful second term."

His wife Twinkle Khanna tweeted a slightly less gung-ho sentiment: "Congratulations to prime minister Narendra Modi and BJP on their sweeping victory. Democracy must always be celebrated. Here's to our India that I hope becomes synonymous with inclusivity, harmony and development."

Producer-director Karan Johar wrote: "The people have spoken, and India has chosen its leader. Congratulations.... Please accept my best wishes for your continued strength and success in performing the duties of this all-important office."

Ajay Devgn wrote simply: "The country knows what is right for them and they have made their choice."

Vivek Oberoi, who is playing Narendra Modi in the biopic PM Narendra Modi, gushed: "Congratulations to Naya Bharat for giving a historic victory to Narendra Modiji! Today democracy has won and a progressive and united India has won. We are so proud to have Bharat's asli hero as our PM again. We are all with you in your mission to make 'Ek Bharat, Shresht Bharat'."

Anil Kapoor said, "The nation has spoken. Congratulations, PM Narendra Modiji, on the historic win. We, the citizens, look forward to the new heights that your leadership promises to take us."

Varun Dhawan said, "The country has decided. Congratulations, honourable prime minister Narendra Modi sir, on your victory. Looking forward to the future under your guidance and leadership where all Indians move ahead together."

Omung Kumar B, director of the PM Narendra Modi film, said, "It's a fantastic win by Modiji and he has shown his detractors and the world that he is not just popular but people love his style of governance. He has created magic today."

Actress Juhi Chawla exulted: "Wishing our PM a landslide victory. Har baar Modi sarkaar!"

Huma Qureshi said, "We all voted and democracy has spoken. This is the will of the people. Congratulations to Narendra Modi. Hope India flourishes under your leadership."

Pakistan-born Indian singer Adnan Sami tweeted, "Heartiest congratulations to Narendra Modiji on a smashing win. I'm on holiday in Germany but have been glued to the TV and internet since early morning with a huge smile on my face! Jai Hind!"

Music composer and singer Shankar Mahadevan said, "Heartiest congratulations to our honourable prime minister Narendra Modi for the amazing victory! Heartiest congratulations to the NDA and every person in the BJP who worked so hard towards this amazing historic win."

Filmmaker Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari wrote: "Let my country awaken to a new thought. A tomorrow of constant reforms encompassing all shades and tints of New India. Congratulations."

Filmmaker Aanand L Rai tweeted: "My heartiest greetings, Narendra Modi, to you and to Vijayi Bharat... all our Indians."

Actor Riteish Deshmukh wrote, "India has decided. Democracy needs to be celebrated. Many congratulations to our honourable prime minister Narendra Modiji on this huge verdict."

Rang De Basanti (2006) star Siddharth said, "Congratulations, prime minister Narendra Modiji, for a historic win in Elections 2019. I hope you will take us to great heights. I promise to always voice my honest opinions in the interest of our great nation as a citizen without fear. Please spread love."