{ Page-Title / Story-Title }

News Hindi

There is still some work to carry out: Amitabh Bachchan on receiving Dadasaheb Phalke award

The actor was presented with the award last evening as he couldn't attend the National Awards ceremony last week due to ill health.

Photo: President of India Twitter

Our Correspondent

Amitabh Bachchan was presented with the Dadasaheb Phalke Award yesterday, 29 December, in Delhi by the president of India, Ram Nath Kovind. The veteran actor wasn’t able to attend the National award ceremony last week where he was supposed to collect his award because of health issues. Hence, a separate ceremony was held for him last evening. 

After receiving the award, Bachchan shared his reaction saying, “When I was declared the recipient of this award, I wondered whether this is an indication that I have worked a lot and now I should just rest at home. Ladies and gentlemen, there is still some work which I have to carry out. And there are chances in the future that I will get more opportunities to work.” 

Following this, President Kovind’s office shared a picture on Twiter of Bachchan receiving the award and wrote, “President Kovind presented Dadasaheb Phalke Award to Shri Amitabh Bachchan for his outstanding and invaluable contribution to cinema spanning over five decades. An actor par excellence, his work has entertained and inspired generations in India and across the world.” 

After starting off as a supporting actor in the film Saat Hindustani (1969), Bachchan slowly climbed the ladder of success and ended up becoming one of the most iconic names of Hindi cinema with over 200 films to his credit. 

Abhishek Bachchan also expressed his happiness by sharing a picture where he, father Amitabh and mother Jaya Bachchan are seated in a private flight after collecting the award. 


A memory to cherish. #dadasahebphalkeaward #theparentals

A post shared by Abhishek Bachchan (@bachchan) on

Next year, Bachchan will be seen in the films, Chehre, Gulabo Sitabo, Brahmastra, and Jhund.

Related topics

National Awards