{ Page-Title / Story-Title }

Article Hindi Marathi Other Telugu

Marathi film Baba wins four awards at the LIFFT India Filmotsav 2019

Mita Vashisht and Tihana Lazovic were jointly declared Best Actress for, respectively, the Hindi film Kasaai: The Devil and the Croatian film Aleksi (2018).

Deepak Dobriyal with Aryan Meghji and Nandita Dhuri in Baba (2019)

Our Correspondent

The LIFFT India Filmotsav concluded last night in Lonavala, a popular hill station about 100 km from Mumbai. The last day saw the announcement of the award winners from among the films screened this year.

It was the Marathi film Baba (2019), which was released in theatres earlier this year, that took away the biggest glory this time. The film was adjudged Best Feature Film and its maker, Raj R Gupta, was conferred the Best Director award.

Baba’s main lead Deepak Dobriyal got the Om Puri award for Best Actor. Dobriyal had played a mute character in the film, which marked his debut in Marathi cinema.

Mita Vashisht and Tihana Lazovic were declared joint winners of the Best Actress award for their work, respectively, in the Hindi film Kasaai: The Devil and the Croatian film Aleksi (2018).

The Ismail Merchant award for Best Producer went to Sridhar Martha, Sunitha Krishnan, Manoj Mishra and Atul Kulkarni for the Odia movie Patnagarh. The Jury award was shared by Inaamulhaq for the Hindi film Nakkash (2019) and Maganti Venu Benerjee for the Telugu movie Raktham (2017).

The award for Best Supporting Actress went to Neelu Dogra for the Hindi movie 2 Band Radio. Jeetendra Shastri was adjudged the Best Supporting Actor for his performance in the Hindi film Taanashah. The film also won the Best Debut Actor award for Dilip Arya.

Baba also bagged a third award, for Best Child Actor, for Aryan Vinod Meghji. The film was the first Marathi production by Sanjay and Manyata Dutt. The award for Best Child Actor Female was given to Roshni Walia for the Hindi movie I Am Banni.

2 Band Radio won another award for Best Screenplay, which went to Kunwar Shakti Singh and Rahat Kazmi. There was also an award for Best Ensemble Cast, which went to the Portuguese film Portugal Is Not For Sale (2019). 

For the complete list of winners, click here.

Related topics