{ Page-Title / Story-Title }

News Hindi

Rajkummar Rao gets 2 Best Actor nominations in Filmfare's Critics' Awards

In the list announced late on Friday, 19 January, Swara Bhaskar has also been named in the Best Actor (Female) category for her performance in Anaarkali Of Aarah.

Sonal Pandya

The Filmfare Awards came under fire on social media and amongst Hindi film fans for its popular category nominations which excluded actor Rajkummar Rao in the Best Actor category and films like Lipstick Under My Burkha and A Death In The Gunj in the Best Film category.

On Friday night (19 January), Filmfare announced the nominations for the Critics' Awards, possibly in a bid to mollify those who spoke out against the initial nominations. Until this year, the Critics' Award nominations were directly announced at the ceremony without declaring the names ealier.

Filmfare slammed for snubbing Rajkummar Rao in Best Actor nominations

This time around, Rajkummar earned a double nomination for his performances in Newton and Trapped for Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Male). Others nominated in the category are Irrfan Khan for Hindi Medium, Ranbir Kapoor for Jagga Jasoos, and Vikrant Massey for A Death In The Gunj.

The Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Female) includes Kangana Ranaut for Rangoon, Sridevi for Mom, Swara Bhaskar for Anaarkali Of Aarah, Vidya Balan for Tumhari Sulu, and Zaira Wasim for Secret Superstar.

Konkona Sensharma's A Death In The Gunj, Alankrita Shrivastava's Lipstick Under My Burkha, Subhashish Bhutiani's Mukti Bhawan, Amit Masurkar's Newton, and Vikramaditya Motwane's Trapped have been nominated for the Critics’ Award for Best Film.

Several Twitter users had expressed anger towards the exclusion of both Rajkummar and Swara Bhaskar in the Best Actor (Male) and (Female) categories, respectively, in the popular category.

The Filmfare Awards will be held on 20 January in Mumbai. Shah Rukh Khan, Karan Johar and Parineeti Chopra will be the co-hosts for the awards ceremony.

Related topics