{ Page-Title / Story-Title }

News Bengali English Hindi

People of Uzbekistan die-hard fans of Hindi cinema: Actor-producer Dev Adhikari

Adhikari's film Hoichoi Unlimited was shot at various locations in Uzbekistan and Kolkata.

Roushni Sarkar

Dev Entertainment Venture’s upcoming film Hoichoi Unlimited will be released during the Durga puja this year. This is the first film made under the cultural pact bewteen actor-turned-producer Dev Adhikari and the government of Uzbekistan in the month of April.

The film features Adhikari, Saswata Chatterjee, Rajatabha Dutta, Kharaj Mukherjee, Koneenica Banerjee, Koushani Mukherjee and Pooja Bose. The entertaining comedy is directed by Aniket Chattopadhyay.

The film has mostly been shot at various locations in Uzbekistan and Kolkata. The unit began shooting in the foreign country in the month of May, when the temperature was quite low. However, as they continued their stay for 25 days, the climate rather became hotter.

In an interview with AnandaPlus, an online issue of Anandabazar Patrika, Adhikari shared his experience of shooting in the middle-eastern country, “The best part of the shooting was experiencing their hospitality. The people of Uzbekistan are die-hard fan of Bollywood [Hindi cinema], Raj Kapoor and Mithun Chakraborty have a crazy fan following there. There are even restaurants named after them. The audience will get to see all the breath-taking locations in which we shot the film. The tourism department there allowed us to shoot wherever we wanted to. Not only on the roads but we have also shot in cars, the hills, the airports and even in the flights.”

The producer could not stop praising the Uzbekistan cuisine as well, “We had amazing kebabs and exotic dry fruits there. Leaving Pooja and another twenty members, who preferred to eat Indian meal, rest of the unit had only local food.”

The unit reportedly faced serious challenge only overcoming the language barrier. Hoichoi Unlimited will be released in Bengali, Hindi, English and many other international languages in countries including Russia, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Ukraine and Azerbaijan.