{ Page-Title / Story-Title }

News Hindi

Paltan's title track doesn't stand out

Composed by Anu Malik, the patriotic number is sung by Divya Kumar, Irrfan, Adarsh and Khuda Baksh.

Sonal Pandya

In 1997, director JP Dutta, lyricist Javed Akhtar, music composer Anu Malik gave us the beautifully moving song, 'Sande Se Aate Hai', sung by Sonu Nigam and Roop Kumar Rathod for Border. This time around, the same team is back with new voices for the title track of Paltan. However, there's something lacking in this patriotic number.

The song opens with the 'Paltan' made of up of Luv Sinha, Sonu Sood, Arjun Rampal, Harshvardhan Rane and Gurmeet Choudhary whistling the famous Colonel Bogey March. The British army marching song used in the Hollywood film, The Bridge On The River Kwai (1957). In the famous scene, the British troops whistle the march as they come before their captors. However, it's not clear why it is used in Paltan.

The song shows the troops stationed at their posts near the China border, readying themselves and boosting their morale. The conditions are harsh - there is extreme heat and cold as the seasons change, but the soldiers bear it all.

The song is sung by Divya Kumar, Irrfan, Adarsh and Khuda Baksh and none of their voices stand out. Perhaps, that's one of the reasons why the song doesn't fully connect.

Paltan is due to be released on 7 September 2018.

Watch the song below:

Related topics

Song review