{ Page-Title / Story-Title }

News Assam Bengali Gujarati Hindi Kannada Malayalam Marathi Tamil

65th National Awards: Sridevi wins best actress, Village Rockstars, Baahubali 2, Newton win big

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award was awarded posthumously to veteran actor Vinod Khanna who passed away last April.

Sonal Pandya

The chairperson of feature films jury, Shekhar Kapur, announced the full list of the 65th National Awards today, 13 April. The filmmaker praised the regional cinema of India before handing out the cinema honours for this past year.

Rima Das's Assamese film, Village Rockstars (2017) took top honours with best film and a handful of technical awards. AR Rahman won two National Awards in the same category for his music on Mani Ratnam's Kaatru Veliyidai (2017) and his background score for Mom (2017). The best actress award was given to Sridevi for her performance in Mom (2017), while Bengali actor Riddhi Sen won best actor for his work in Nagarkirtan (2017). Divya Dutta and Fahadh Faasil won best supporting actress and actor for their work on Irada and Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum respectively.

Newton (2017), starring Rajkummar Rao, won best film and a special mention for actor Pankaj Tripathi. Actress Parvathy also won a special mention from the jury for her performance in the Malayalam film, Take Off (2017).

Rewind 2017: Who was the year's Best Actor in Hindi cinema?

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award was awarded posthumously to veteran actor Vinod Khanna who passed away last April.

Writer Imtiaz Hussain, lyricist Mehboob, actress Gautami Tadimalla, director Rahul Rawail, directors P Sheshadri, Rajesh Mapuskar and Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, and playwright Tripurari Sharma were also a part of the jury. The 65th National Awards will be handed out on 3 May 2018 in New Delhi

Here is the full list of awards:

Special Mention -  Director Yasharaj Karhade (Mhorkya) / Prakruti Mishra (Hello Arsi) / Parvathy (Take Off) / Pankaj Tripathi (Newton)

Best Ladakhi film - Walking With The Wind
Best Jasari film - Sinjar
Best Tulu film - Paddayi
Best Oriya film - Hello Arsi
Best Marathi film - Kachcha Limbu
Best Malayalam film - Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum
Best Kannada film - Hebbettu Ramakka
Best Hindi film - Newton
Best Bengali film - Mayurakshi
Best Assamese film - Ishu
Best Tamil film - To Let
Best Telugu film - Ghazi
Best Gujarati film - Dhh

Best Action Direction - Abbas Ali Moghul for Baahubali 2: The Conclusion
Best Choreography - Ganesh Acharya for the song, 'Gori Tu Latth Maar' from Toilet: Ek Prem Katha
Best Special Effects - Baahubali 2: The Conclusion
Special Jury Award - Nagarkirtan

Best Lyrics - JM Prahalad for the song, 'Muthuratna'  
Best Music Direction - AR Rahman for the songs from Kaatru Veliyidai and background music from Mom
Best Makeup Artist - Ram Rajjak, Nagarkirtan
Best Production Designer - Santhosh Raman, Take Off
Best Editing - Rima Das, Village Rockstars
Best Female Playback Singer - Shashaa Tirupati for the song 'Vaan' from Kaatru Veliyidai
Best Male Playback Singer - KJ Yesudas for the song 'Poy Maranja Kalam' from Viswasapoorvam Mansoor
Best Child Artist - Bhanita Das, Village Rockstars
Best Screenplay Original - Sajeev Pazhoor, Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum
Best Screenplay Adapted - Jayaraj, Bhayanakam
Best Dialogues - Sambit Mohanty, Hello Arsi
Best Cinematography - Nikhil S Praveen, Bhayanakam
Best Children's Film - Mhorkya
Best Sound Design and Re-Recordist - Justin A Jose and Sanal George, Walking with the Wind
Best Audiography (location sound) - Mallika Das, Village Rockstars
Best Direction - Jayaraj, Bhayanakam

Best Supporting Actor - Fahadh Faasil, Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum
Best Supporting Actress - Divya Dutta, Irada
Best Actor - Riddhi Sen, Nagarkirtan
Best Actress - Sridevi, Mom
Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation - Irada
Best Film on Social Issues - Aalorukkam
Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration - Dhappa
Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment - Baahubali 2: The Conclusion
Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director: Sinjar
Best Film - Village Rockstars

Best Debut Film of a Director - Water Baby
Best Anthropological/Ethnographic Film - Name, Place, Animal, Thing / Slave Genesis

Dadasaheb Phalke Award to Vinod Khanna

Best writing on cinema awards

Best Book on Cinema - Matmagi Manipur-The first Manipuri Feature Film by Bobby Wahengbam, Publisher: Angomningthou Preservation & Documentation
Best Film Critic -  Mr Giridhar Jha
Special Mention - Mr Sunil Mishra

Non-feature films

Special Mention - Jayaraj (Rebirth) / Rukshana Tabassum (Cake Story) / Swapnil Vasant Kapure (Afternoon)
Best Music - Ramesh Narayanan, Shored of Liberty
Best Editing - Sanjiv Monga and Tenzin Kunchok, Mrityubhoj The Death Feast
Best On Location Sound Recordist - Samarth Mahajan, The Unreserved
Best Audiography - Avinash Sonawane, Pavasacha Nibandha
Best Cinematography - Appu Prabhakar (Eye Test) / Arnold Fernandes (Dawn)
Best Direction - Nagraj Manjule, Pavasacha Nibandha
Best Film on Family Values - Happy Birthday
Best Short Fiction Film - Mayat
Special Jury Award - A Very Old Man With Enormous Wings / Monday
Best Animation Film - The Fish Curry / The Basket
Best Investigative Film - 1984 When The Sun Didn't Rise
Best Exploration/Adventur Film - Ladakh Chale Richawala
Best Educational Film - The Little Girl We Were And The Women We Are
Best Film on Social Issues - I Am Bonnie / Veil Done
Best Environment Film including Agriculture: The Pangti Story
Best Promotional Film - Poetry On Fabric
Best Arts/Cultural Film - Girija
Best Biographical/Historical Reconstruction - Naachi Se Baanchi / Sword Of Liberty

Related topics

National Awards