News Hindi

Always wanted to do films that matter: Shweta Tripathi on Zoo premiering at Busan Film Fest

The film, entirely shot on iPhone 6, is selected for the 'A Window on Asian Cinema' category at the festival, starting 12 October.


Excited for the world premiere of her next film Zoo — entirely shot on an iPhone 6 — at the Busan Film Festival, actress Shweta Tripathi, says experimental cinema was always her cup of tea.

Zoo, directed by Shlok Sharma and produced by Anurag Kashyap, is selected for the 'A Window on Asian Cinema' category at the Busan Festival.

The film, also featuring Shashank Arora, explores lives of teenagers who are drug addicts.

Talking about it, Tripathi said in a statement, "I always wanted to be a part of films which matter and being rewarded by getting recognition from a festival like Busan is something I as an actor work for primarily. I always wanted to be part of experimental cinema and this film gives me exactly that."

The Masaan (2015) actress had last collaborator with Sharma and Kashyap for Haraamkhor (2017), which was a critically acclaimed film and was also screened at a few film festivals.

Haraamkhor review: Watch this student-teacher affair spiral out of control

"Shlok is a director who gave me my first feature film, but unfortunately it was stuck for various reasons and then he wanted to make another film with me. We started shooting immediately after Haraamkhor released. I like being part of films which set new trends and this being the first film to be shot on an iPhone was very interesting," she added.

On her character in Zoo, she said, "I play Misha Mehta, an urban girl addicted to drugs and who is trapped in her house because she blames herself for an accident which happened a few years back. In order to escape those emotions, she gets trapped with her thoughts and finds solace in drugs. This role for me was completely different from Masaan and Haraamkhor and that's what drew me to it."

The 22nd edition of the Busan Film Festival will be held from 12-21 October, 2017.