News English (India) Hindi

Karan Johar, Kabir Khan to judge Jio Filmfare Short Film Awards 2018

Directors Nikkhil Advani, Onir and Shakun Batra are also on the panel for the 2nd edition.

Photos: Shutterbugs Images

Sonal Pandya

The Filmfare Awards for short films is back for its 2nd edition with jury members Karan Johar, Kabir Khan, Nikkhil Advani, Onir and Shakun Batra. Film students and independent filmmakers are eligible for the 2018 awards.

There are six categories in which the awards will be presented —  Best Film (Fiction), Best Film (Non-Fiction or Documentary), Best Actor (Male) and Best Actor (Female) and the People’s Choice Award. Short films that are under 20 minutes and released in the last 12 months are eligible for the award and can be submitted through the Filmfare Short Films Award website

Films in all Indian languages can be submitted along with English subtitles. The public vote for the People's Choice award while the jury judges the best from the other categories. Physical copies of the film along with the duly filled entry forms will be accepted until 30 November 2017. 

Last year, for its first edition, Aarti S Bagdi’s Khamakha won the People's Choice Award for Best Film. Jyoti Kapur Das’s Chutney won the award for Best Film (Fiction), while Prantik Vivek Deshmukh’s Matitali Kusti won the Best Film (Non-Fiction) award. Actress Tisca Chopra won the Best Actor (Female) award for Chutney and Manoj Bajpayee won the Best Actor (Male) award for Taandav.

Related topics