{ Page-Title / Story-Title }

News Hindi

Akshay Kumar, filmmaker K Vishwanath, Sonam Kapoor receive their National Awards

Akshay Kumar, Sonam Kapoor, Adil Hussain, were among the recipients of the National Film Awards in New Delhi on Wednesday.

Adil Hussain, Sonam Kapoor, Surabhi Lakshmi and Akshay Kumar

Shriram Iyengar

President Pranab Mukherjee felicitated the winners of the 64th National Film Awards in New Delhi on Wednesday. Akshay Kumar picked up the award for Best Actor for his performance in Rustom (2016), while Malayalam actress Surabhi Lakshmi collected the Best Actress award for her performance in Minnaminugu - The Firefly (2016).

Read: 64th National Awards: Akshay Kumar, Neerja, Ventilator win big

Veteran filmmaker K Vishwanath was honoured with the Dadasaheb Phalke award for his contribution to Indian cinema. The 87-year-old became the 48th recipient of the prestigious award.

Akshay Kumar was thrilled at recieving the award, and took to Twitter to share his joy. 'No words can do justice to the joy I feel at this moment...sharing with you all my first ever #NationalFilmAward!Thank you for the love', wrote the Rustom actor.

The actor was accompanied by wife Twinkle Khanna, and son, Aarav, to the function.

The biggest cheer of the night though came from Anil Kapoor who accompanied his daughter Sonam to the event. As the actress walked up to collect her Special Mention award for her performance in Neerja (2016), Kapoor played the perfect father by cheering her on and clicking pictures. The actress was also accompanied by rumoured boyfriend, Anand Ahuja, at the event.

It was a big night for Sonam, with Neerja also felicitated as the Best Hindi Film.

Adil Hussain collected the award for Special Mention in Feature Film on behalf of Mukti Bhawan (2016) and the Assamese film, Maj Rati Keteki (2016).

The Marathi film Kasav (2016) won the National Award for Best Film, while Amitabh Bachchan-starrer Pink won the Best Film on Social Issues award. Priyanka Chopra's maiden Marathi production, Ventilator, also picked up three awards for Best Editing, Best Re-Recording, and Best Director.