{ Page-Title / Story-Title }

News Hindi

'The Goggle Song': Shove ear plugs, wear goggles to protect yourself from this deafening Mubarakan song

With average lyrics and music, even Anil Kapoor's infectious energy could not save this track.

Mayur Lookhar

The trailer was disappointing, but Mubarakan has hit the right notes with its music. The Mubarakan title track and the 'Hawa Hawa' remake were delightful numbers. The makers today released ‘The Goggle Song’, which is innovative, but not spectacular.

Mubarakan title song: Huge congratulations to Arjun Kapoor, Badshah & Co

It’s the music and lyrics that determine the success of a song. It would be really difficult to remember the lyrics even after repeat hearings. The lyrics penned by Kumaar are pretty average. Amaal Malik has managed to compose peppy Punjabi pop tunes in parts, but overall the music doesn’t move you. The aalap holds promise, but quickly tapers to become a clichéd Hindi Punjabi pop track.

'Hawa Hawa' song: Peppy desi beats, Arjun Kapoor's dance make this remake a worthy one

Mubakaran is a multi-cast film, including Arjun Kapoor’s twin avatars.  

Sonu Nigam, Tulsi Kumar, Amaal and Armaan Malik have been joined by Neeti Mohan, who provides the vocals for the female leads – Athiya Shetty and Ileana D’Cruz. She stands out and perhaps fares better than the male singers.

Mohan's voice has the swag that’s displayed by the Mubarakan heroines. You’re floored with the way Nigam croons the word ‘Khatarnak hai’. One can seldom find fault with Nigam’s singing, but here he’s let down by average lyrics and music. Amaal Malik and Kumar don’t inspire much confidence with their show.

'Hawa Hawa' and the Mubarakan title song had fine choreography, but the visuals in 'The Goggle Song' are no treat to the eyes. Anil Kapoor displays more energy than his nephew Arjun Kapoor and the heroines, but overall the visuals disappoint. The bhangra beats need to be backed by riveting dance moves, too. Sadly, we don’t see it in 'The Goggle Song'.

Mubarakan is set to be released on 28 July.

Watch the song below: