{ Page-Title / Story-Title }


Filmfare Awards: Dangal named Best Film; Aamir Khan, Alia Bhatt bag top honours

Nitesh Tiwari picked his maiden Best Director Award; Sonam Kapoor, Manoj Bajpayee and Shahid Kapoor bagged the Critics' Awards.

Mayur Lookhar

Aamir Khan saved the best for the last. Keeping with the tradition of delivering blockbusters in the Christmas week, Aamir's Dangal swept the top honours at the 62nd Filmfare Awards bagging the Best Film, Best Director (Nitesh Tiwari), Best Actor (Aamir) and Best Action (Sham Kaushal).

Dangal had already smashed the record for the highest nett domestic collection, bagging close to Rs350 crore at the start of its fourth week on 13 January. Hailed by both critics and audiences alike, Dangal sweeping the top honours was a forgone conclusion. However, Aamir did face intense competition with as many as seven actors vying for the coveted black lady. Aamir beat Shah Rukh Khan (Fan), Salman Khan (Sultan), Amitabh Bachchan (Pink), Ranbir Kapoor (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil), Shahid Kapoor (Udta Punjab) and Sushant Singh Rajput (M.S. Dhoni: The Untold Story).

This is just the third Best Actor Award for Aamir since he bagged it for Lagaan (2001). Aamir made his debut in 1989, but won his first Best Actor award for Raja Hindustani (1997). The Dangal actor had picked the Critics' Award for Best Actor for Rang De Basanti (2007). 

Meanwhile, Alia Bhatt picked her maiden Best Actress award for her rustic performance in Udta Punjab. 

Other winners included actor Manoj Bajpai, who shared the Critics' Award for Best Actor with Shahid Kapoor. While Bajpai bagged the honour for his portrayal of Professor Ramchandra Siras in Aligarh, Shahid was rewarded for his act in Udta Punjab.

Sonam Kapoor picked the Critics' Award for Best Actress for Neerja. Shabana Azmi, who played Sonam’s mother in Neerja, won the Best Actor In a Supporting Role (Female). Neerja also won the Critics' Award for Best Film.

Though it bagged the top honours, Dangal missed out on the Best Story, which was given to Shakun Batra and Ayesha Devitre for Dharma Productions’ Kapoor & Sons. 

Dharma Productions picked nine trophies on the night with most notable winners being Rishi Kapoor getting the Best Actor in a Suporting Role (Male) Award for Kapoor & Sons. Dharma Productions' Ae Dil Hai Mushkil and Kapoor & Sons received various nominations.

Pritam bagged the Best Music award for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil, with Arijit Singh winning the Best Playback Singer (Male) for the title track of Ae Dil Hai Mushkil. 

Neha Bhasin took the Best Playback Singer (Female) for 'Jag Ghoomeya' from Yash Raj Films' Sultan.

Diljit Dosanjh and Ritika Singh won the Best Debut, male and female awards for Udta Punjab and Saala Khadoos, respectively.

Veteran actor Shatrughan Sinha was honoured with the Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award.