{ Page-Title / Story-Title }

News Hindi

Rajkummar Rao, Irrfan Khan, Vidya Balan win big at Star Screen Awards

Rajkummar went home with three trophies for Best Supporting Actor, Best Actor (Critics) and Best Film (Newton), while Irrfan Khan bagged the big trophy of Best Actor (Hindi Medium) at the Star Screen Awards on 3 December.

Our Correspondent

The rise of the non-commercial Hindi film is real, and award shows are beginning to accept them. At the Star Screen Awards last night (3 December), the big trophies went to Rajkummar Rao, Irrfan Khan and Vidya Balan, underlining a phenomenal year for content-based cinema in the Hindi film industry. 

Rajkummar won two major trophies of Best Supporting Actor for his performance in Bareilly Ki Barfi, and Best Actor (Critics) for his performance in Newton, while Khan took home the Best Actor trophy for his performance in Hindi Medium. Vidya's turn as the housewife-turned-sensual RJ in Tumhari Sulu earned her the Best Actress gong, while the film itself earned director Suresh Triveni Best Debut Director trophy. 

Nitesh Tiwari's blockbuster Dangal ensured its presence by winning a stunning 7 trophies. Tiwari won the award for Best Director, while Aparshakti Khurrana won for Best Debut (Male). The film's music also won major plaudits with Pritam taking home the Best Music and Best Background Score trophies for the film, while Amitabh Bhattacharya won in the Best Lyrics category. 

Following is the full list of the winners: 

Best Director – Nitesh Tiwari (Dangal)

Best Debut Director – Suresh Triveni (Tumhari Sulu)

Best Actor – Irrfan Khan (Hindi Medium)

Best Actor (Critics) – Rajkummar Rao (Newton)

Best Actress  – Vidya Balan (Tumhari Sulu)

Best Actress (Critics) – Konkona Sen Sharma

Best Supporting Actor – Rajkummar Rao (Bareilly Ki Barfi)

Best Supporting Actress – Neha Dhupia (Tumhari Sulu)

Best Debut Male  – Aparshakti Khurrana (Dangal)

Best Music – Pritam (Dangal)

Best Female Playback Singer – Shashaa Tirupati (Shubh Mangal Savdhan)

Best Male Playback Singer – Arijit Singh (Raees and Jagga Jasoos)

Best Lyrics – Amitabh Bhattacharya (Dangal)

Best Background Score – Pritam (Dangal)

Best Sound Design – Shajith Koyeri (Rangoon)

Best Dialogues – Nitesh Tiwari, Shreyas Jain and Rajat Nonia (Bareilly Ki Barfi)

Best Editing – Ballu Saluja (Dangal)

Best Choreography – Shiamak Davar (Jagga Jasoos)