{ Page-Title / Story-Title }

News Hindi

Zee Cine Awards 2018: Varun Dhawan wins Best Actor, Golmaal Again wins Best Film

Ashwini Iyer Tiwari won the Best Director award for Bareilly Ki Barfi, while Rajkummar Rao was presented with the Impactful Actor of the Year award. 

Photo: Shutterbugs Images

Shriram Iyengar

The Zee Cine Awards 2017 saw Varun Dhawan walk away with the big prize for Best Actor, while Rohit Shetty collected the Best Film award for the ensemble comedy, Golmaal Again. The gala event, which took place in Mumbai on Tuesday (19 December) night, saw a spectacular array of stars perform on stage. 

Priyanka Chopra returned to the Indian stage after a long break to perform at the Zee Cine Awards. The Bajirao Mastani (2015) actress performed on stage and was later accompanied by her Dil Dhadakne Do (2015) co-stars Anil Kapoor and Ranveer Singh. She bagged the Global Icon Extraordinaire trophy for her growing impact on the world platform. 

The event saw a gathering of high profile stars from Shah Rukh Khan, Amitabh Bachchan to Akshay Kumar, Varun Dhawan, and Ranveer Singh. The fashion quotient of the event was only undertowed by the popular choices of the award winners. 

Varun Dhawan won the big prize of the day and took home the Best Actor Male award for his performance in Badrinath Ki Dulhania (2017). Directed by Shashank Khaitan, the film also saw Alia Bhatt win the Viewer's Choice Best Actor Female. 

Sridevi won the Best Actor Female award for her performance in Mom (2017), while Rohit Shetty was 'surprised' with the Best Film award for Golmaal Again (2017). The director, who was also hosting the show, while giving his thanks said the award was 'unexpected'. The film also won Jomon T John the award for Best Cinematography

Shetty, however, lost out on the Best Director prize, which went to Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari for Bareilly Ki Barfi (2017). The film, starring Rajkummar Rao, Ayushmann Khurrana and Kriti Sanon, also won Nitesh Tiwari the award for Best Scriptwriting and Dialogues and Laxmi Keluskar and Sandeep Meher the trophy for Best Art Director. 

While there were several murmurs about Rajkummar Rao losing out to Varun Dhawan despite his miraculous performances through the year, the actor was presented with the Most Impactful Actor Of The Year award for Newton (2017).

Akshay Kumar starrer, Toilet: Ek Prem Katha (2017) was judged as the winner of the Extraordinary Impact Award. 

The awards also recognized several new entrants to the industry. Director Advait Chandan won the Best Debutant Director award, while Salman Khan's little Tubelight (2017) co-star, Matin Rey Tangu, took home the prize for Best Debutant Male. 

The other main awardees were Shah Rukh Khan, who was presented with a special honour for his contribution to television and cinema over 25 years. "When I started my journey in the entertainment industry, I thought of doing not more than 2 or 3 films but ended up staying in the industry for 25 years," Shah Rukh said while accepting the award.

Amitabh Bachchan was also presented with the Legend Extraordinary Award. 

Following is the complete list of winners at the Zee Cine Awards 2018:

Extraordinary Legend Award: Amitabh Bachchan

Extraordinary Impact Award (Film): Toilet: Ek Prem Katha (2017)

Best Actor in a Negative Role: Raj Rajun for Secret Superstar (2017)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male): Anil Kapoor for Mubarakan (2017)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female): Meher Vij for Secret Superstar (2017)

Best Debut (Female): Nidhi Aggarwal for Munna Michael (2017)

Best Debut (Male): Matin Ray Tangu for Tubelight (2017)

Viewers Choice Best Film Award: Toilet: Ek Prem Katha (2017)

Extraordinary Impact Award (Female): Taapsee Pannu for Naam Shabana (2017)

Extraordinary Impact Award (Male): Rajkummar Rao

Best Director: Ashiwiny Iyer Tiwari for Bareilly Ki Barfi (2017)

Extraordinary Franchise Award: Baahubali (2017)

Best Debutant Director: Advait Chandan for Secret Superstar (2017)

Best Choreography: Vijay Ganguly and Ruel Dausan Varindani  'Galti Se Mistake' song in Jagga Jasoos (2017)

Best Action: Sham Kaushal for Kaabil (2017)

Best Film: Golmaal Again (2017)

Best Actor Male: Varun Dhawan for Badrinath Ki Dulhania

Best Actor Female: Sridevi for Mom (2017)