{ Page-Title / Story-Title }


Amitabh Bachchan, Alia Bhatt tower at the Star Screen Awards 2016

The 22nd Star Screen Awards on Sunday saw Amitabh Bachchan and Alia Bhatt emerge as winners at the event hosted by Shah Rukh Khan and Salman Khan. 

Shriram Iyengar

While Amitabh Bachchan's Pink was the main success story of the night, winning four awards, Alia Bhatt won the Best Actress award for her performance in Udta Punjab (2015). The event also saw a one-off in its hosting, with Shah Rukh Khan and Salman Khan playing emcees for the night.

Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury's Pink won four awards in total with felicitations of Best Dialogue, Best Editing and Best Film to go with Bachchan's win for Best Actor.

Alia Bhatt walked away with the Best Actress award for her brilliant performance in the Abhishek Chaubey film, Udta Punab.

Rishi Kapoor won the Best Supporting Actor award for his performance in the sleeper hit, Kapoor and Sons, while Swara Bhaskar walked away with the Best Actress (Critics' Choice) for her role as the hassled mother in Nil Battey Sannata(2015). Although Pink dominated the film awards, the cherished Best Director trophy went to Ram Madhvani for helming Neerja (2016). 

Inevitably, it was the Khans who were the main attraction of the night, entering the stage riding bicycles and performing the 'Jai-Veeru' act. The show also witnessed a number of electrical performances from Tiger Shroff's dance act with Sushant Singh Rajput and Varun Dhawan to Disha Patani performing to the latest craze from Befikre, 'Nashe Si Chadh Gayi'. Patani won the award for Best Newcomer in Neeraj Pandey's MS Dhoni: The Untold Story (2016) to add the icing to her cake. 

Yet, it was Rekha who stole everybody's thunder by taking the stage and performing to her hit number, Pardesia from the Bachchan-starrer, Mr Natwarlal (1979), when invited on stage for her Lifetime Achievement Award. 

Here is the complete list of award winners: 

Best Film: Pink
Best Actor: Amitabh Bachchan for Pink
Best Actress: Alia Bhatt for Udta Punjab
Best Supporting Actor: Rishi Kapoor for Kapoor and Sons
Best Supporting Actress: Shabana Azmi for Neerja
Best Actor (Critics' choice): Sushant Singh Rajput for MS Dhoni: The Untold Story
Best Actress (Critics' choice): Swara Bhaskar for Nil Battey Sannata
Best Actor (in a comic role): Varun Dhawan for Dishoom
Best Director: Ram Madhvani for Neerja
Best Screenplay: Saiwyn Quadras for Neerja
Best Dialogues: Ritesh Shah for Pink
Best Cinematography: Anay Goswamy for Fitoor
Best Editing: Aditya Bannerji for Pink
Best Action: Jai Singh Nijjar for Shivaay
Best Music Director: Pritam for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Best Playback Singer (Male): Amit Mishra for Bulleya, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Best Playback Singer (Female): Palak Muchhal for Kaun Tujhe, MS Dhoni: The Untold Story
Best Lyrics: Amitabh Bhattacharya, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Best Choreography: Bosco-Caesar for Kaala Chashma, Baar Baar Dekho
Best Child Artiste: Riya Shukla for Nil Battey Sannata
Best Newcomer (Female): Disha Patani for MS Dhoni: The Untold Story
Best Newcomer (Male): Jim Sarbh for Neerja and Harshvardhan Kapoor for Mirzya
Best Promising Director: Tinu Suresh Desai for Rustom
Lifetime Achievement Award: Rekha
Best Style Icon: Deepika Padukone