{ Page-Title / Story-Title }


About time! Filmfare introduces new awards section for short films 

The celebrated awards event will see a new section for Filmfare Short Films Award next year.

A still from Sujoy Ghosh's short film Ahalya

Shriram Iyengar

After a long time of being sidelined, short filmmakers in India now have a chance to win the celebrated Black Lady at Filmfare 2017. The 62nd Filmfare Awards in 2017 will see an additional section for short films. 

It was director Meghna Gulzar who had announced the opening of the section for entries. There was no shortage of it, as the section saw 1,000 entries submitted within one month of the announcement. The entries are to be categorised and judged by a jury that includes Gauri Shinde, Karan Johar, Meghna, Vidya Balan, Zoya Akhtar, and Kabir Khan. The short film awards will see winners in Best Movie Fiction, Best Movie Non-Fiction, Best Actor Male, Best Actor Female and the People's Choice Award. In a departure from tradition, the winners are set to be announced online on 10 January. 

2016 has seen some delightful short films. The nominee list includes Sujoy Ghosh's Ahalya starring Radhika Apte, Tisca Chopra's recently released Chutney, and Devashish Makhija's Taandav with Manoj Bajpai in the lead. 

The 62nd Filmfare Award is set to be held in January 2017, and will be hosted by Shah Rukh Khan.